South Africa declares three additional renewable energy development zones

The South African Government has declared three additional geographic areas as Renewable Energy Development Zones (REDZs). The country now has a total of 11 REDZs. The areas include Emalahleni, Klerksdorp, and Beaufort West and are expected to house a number of renewable energy projects in the country. According to the notice, Emalahleni and Klerksdorp have been identified as strategic for large-scale solar power development and Beaufort West has been identified as strategic for both solar and wind projects.

Read More